Optimist

I’m not an optimist, I’m just stubborn-
It’s easy to get the two confused-
Beaten, broken, battered and bruised-
Used to my end-
But still, here I am again-
Somehow I just can’t be kept down-
But are you actually surprised?

With the guise of a small-town sweetheart
The galaxies within me are masked by
A domestic frame and a demure grin,
But you-

You felt them there from the start, didn’t you?

Maybe if you’d look me in the eye you too
Could catch a glimpse of all I have inside
And watch as our stars collide-

But then again, what do I know?
I’m just an optimist,

At least,
Everyone seems to think so.

Leave a Reply

